Laurie Sugarman-Whittier Wellness Award

The Laurie Sugarman-Whittier Wellness Award is given to honor an individual in one or more of these areas:

  • Someone that has promoted the mission of making Southborough a better place for all
  • A person who is a mental health or human services advocate
  • An individual that embodies wellness and resilience after overcoming challenges and adversity
  • Someone that has worked in some other capacity to promote human welfare in Southborough

Laurie Sugarman-Whittier, former director of Youth and Family Services, dedicated over 30 years of her career to providing care and support to residents of Southborough. Laurie had a strong commitment to mental health education, and to fostering a nurturing and safe place for those dealing with mental health issues. Though Laurie retired in 2016, she left a legacy that is still evident in our community.

Recipients of the Laurie Sugarman-Whittier Wellness Award

  • 2019: Mary Ellen Duggan
  • 2020: Barbara Jandrue
  • 2021: Chelsea Bradway
  • 2022: Cathy Wilson
  • 2023: Kim Tolander (posthumously)

    LSW2023KTThis year the Youth Commission received several fantastic nominations and unanimously chose Kim Tolander.  The Youth Commission received a record number of nominations for Kim, describing her as a community organizer, a strong advocate for youth, and a generous altruist who worked tirelessly to support others, among many other qualities.  Sadly, Kim passed away unexpectedly this past August and the Youth Commission is pleased to have the opportunity to honor her memory in this way.