Health Department

The Southborough Board of Health is run by a three member elected board and three staff members. Each board member serves a three year term. The current board is comprised of Chair, Chelsea Malinowski; Nancy Sacco, RN and Dr. Safdar Medina. Heather Alker, MD, MPH, Public Health Director, oversees the daily activities of the Board of Health Office with assistance from Assistant Health Director/Public Health Nurse, Taylor West, RN, BSN and Business Administrative, Barbara Spiri, as well as Sanitary Inspector, Dennis M. Costello.


We have also partnered with Boylston, Northborough and Westborough in the Greater Boroughs Partnership for Health. Click here for more information!

Regular Board of Health Meetings are held once per month, usually in the Board of Health Office at 9 Cordaville Rd. Meetings are posted with the Town Clerk's office or you may contact the Board of Health Office to confirm dates and times.


To sign up for the Health Department's monthly public health newsletter click here!

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Heather Alker MD, MPH Public Health Director (508) 481-3013
Taylor West RN Public Health Nurse (508) 281-8983
Dennis M. Costello Sanitary Inspector
Barbara Spiri Business Administrator I (508) 485-0710 x3016 (Part Time)